Are You the One?

fresh green lilac bud in springIf you’ve followed my blog for a while, you may know of my affinity for lilacs, esp for the tree at the side of my yard http://wp.me/p1q4uP-3n. I snapped this pic today, just as the sun was coming through the gray sky which had greeted the day. In my ever hopeful desire that my lilac tree should erupt in cascades of lilac bunches, rather than the sparse selection that is its custom, I looked through the greening buds unfolding along the branches and that can’t yet foretell if they will become leaf or flower. And as I picked my way through them, I kept asking “Are you the one?” I am so anxious to know if those buds will bear fruit or merely be one of the masses. And how about you or me? Will we dare stand out among the masses and bear fruit?

Leave a Reply

