Planting the Seed

When I was about 10 or 12, my grandmother gave me a necklace with a clear, heart-shaped bauble attached. Inside the heart was a mustard seed, and  I remember her telling me what that meant. And though familiar with that bit of Gospel, I didn’t understand how to put that into practice. I’m not sure I do now, not fully.

By that I mean it’s easy for me to say I have strong faith in God when things are going well..and not just for me but for what I feel especially in the way of the world. Up against threats and the carrying out of terrorism, the U.S. economic meltdown, global disaster, and just the plain absence of courtesy and respect for both the living and the dead on any given day, and a whole bagful of mustard seeds seem incapable of standing a chance. When things fall apart for me personally, for those I love, or within society itself, my heart can feel as dry as the little mustard seed in that necklace grandma gave to me.

I know in these ongoing situations that I need to trust the Lord implicitly. On a good day, I can do that. On bad days, I struggle. I need a constant reminder.

David was able to slay Goliath because his unfailing trust in God gave him courage. When Saul attempted to dissuade David of a fight with a formidable giant by pointing out his small size and relative lack of experience, David knew God would deliver him, as He had done in the past. It brought him through an oversized threat.

Grandma’s little necklace hangs by my computer as it has now for many years, the chain long ago having turned black. But it’s intact. It’s a little reminder to me every day how I’m still learning to put my faith into practice so that I can best my Goliaths.

Leave a Reply

