Can You Hear Me Now?

Tonight, while I let the dog out for the last time before bed, I heard spring awakening.

Our neighborhood is a quiet one, and in the process of owning a dog these past few years I’ve discovered something I never knew existed before. In the quiet of the night, you can actually hear spring coming to life.

Standing on my front porch I can hear the emergence of plant leaves as they poke their way through the uncleared leaves of the flower beds. Don’t believe me? I didn’t either a couple years ago, till I got a flashlight and, kneeling over the flower bed, waited, shining the light on the spot where I last heard the crisp rustle of dry leaves.

And….voila! After a few minutes, the tendril of an astilbe leaf popped up and uncurled right before my eyes!

It was magnificent. I felt joyous. I realized that I had witnessed something that most people will never see. All because I stopped to listen.

I’m sure God speaks to us just this way. Asking us to pay attention, to awaken to His Word.

One thought on “Can You Hear Me Now?

Leave a comment